forum

Forum

We encourage you to talk back! Expert advice is nice, but we all love to hear what other parents are doing. So, don’t just ask questions but share your own experience, thoughts, ideas, tips and examples.

|  Latest Topics

Author   Comment  
Katrin
Reply with quote  #1 

Hi everybody! I am so glad I've found this site. I am a native speaker of German but raise my two children (5 and 7 yrs.) in English. In Germany bilingualism is rather an exception than the rule and non-native bilingualism is unheard of. Thus I am the target of vivid discussions, not to mention hostile critisism. I've been told that I am abusing my children, that I am jeopardizing their emotional well-being or that I am selfish, because I was doing this only for myself and not for the children. I could go on forever. Of course, I am trying to give my children a jump-start in English, but so what? My husband and I am are very fond of the English language, I studied English at university and worked in an English-speaking work environment all my professional life. We travel to the US about twice a year and yes, we are proud to find that our children are able to cope in an English-speaking environment. My oldest speaks English, though slowly and with some mistakes. My little one has so far refused to speak English, yet understands everything. We are proud of what we have accomplished so far and I would encourage any parent considering non-native bilingualism to give it a try. Though I must admit that it is not easy, even when think you are fluent, you will sooner or later find out that you aren't. 

Katrin (German / English, OPOL)

Karolina
Reply with quote  #2 

Hallo Katrin,

I am glad that I have found someone like you. We are considering raising our child bilingually although we are both Czechs, so I search for any good advice. Can you tell me what system do you use? Do you speak only English to your kids or do you switch between English and German? Thank you.

ListModerator