forum

Forum

We encourage you to talk back! Expert advice is nice, but we all love to hear what other parents are doing. So, don’t just ask questions but share your own experience, thoughts, ideas, tips and examples.

|  Latest Topics

Author   Comment  
EXUK
Reply with quote  #1 

I am an English speaker and live in Israel.  My daughter is almost 2.5 and I have always spoken to her in English and my Israeli wife only Hebrew.  Although English is her minority language, she seems to understand everything I say but other than a few words doesn't speak English too much. 

I speak Hebrew, but I'm not very good at switching between the two languages and since my daughter is not exposed to English other than from me and some videos and books at home - I try my best to make sure that when she's with me I only speak English. 

But when she's with friends at her nursery (or other social circumstances involving other children) I'm never too sure how to speak to her.  Since it's difficult for me to switch between the two languages without confusing myself I can't talk in English as the other children don't understand me and find myself talking in Hebrew only to her and her friends.  Is this a mistake?  Will it have an adverse effect on her English?  I find myself being pretty obsessive about her speaking English as I think it would be such a waste if she doesn't learn English - is this normal too? 

ListModerator
Reply with quote  #2 
Congratulations -- that is exciting news!