forum

Forum

We encourage you to talk back! Expert advice is nice, but we all love to hear what other parents are doing. So, don’t just ask questions but share your own experience, thoughts, ideas, tips and examples.

|  Latest Topics

Author   Comment  
sandra
Reply with quote  #1 
Hello
My mother language is Portuguese. We live in the USA.
Due to some special circumstances (related to the adoption of my older daughter) I was unable to speak to my 2yo in Portuguese. She now speaks only English. I have now a 2mo baby. And I want to switch to speaking with them only in Portuguese, but not sure how to go about it (as my 2yo obviously know I speak English, and she wont understand anything. I stil have 3 weeks of maternity leave before going back to work and need ideas to jump start the process. Thank you

sandra
Reply with quote  #2 
no one has any idea?
M.
Reply with quote  #3 
Sandra,

I was surprised nobody had answered to your question yet.  I'm new to the bilingual parent thing, as my little one is only two.  So maybe I'm not the best one to give ideas.  I am from Belgium, so being raised multilingual isn't anything new to me, I grew up with it.   
I do believe that the key is being persistent. There is no English at my house.  Even if my American friends are around, I apologize in advance for the "jibber jabber" and communicate with my son in Dutch only.  As I thought people would be offended, it turned out to be not true at all.  My close friends think it's just absolutely fascinating.  Only in public, with complete strangers, do I speak English to my son.