forum

Forum

We encourage you to talk back! Expert advice is nice, but we all love to hear what other parents are doing. So, don’t just ask questions but share your own experience, thoughts, ideas, tips and examples.

|  Latest Topics

Author   Comment  
Gabriela
Reply with quote  #1 

I found this site while I was pregnant with my first child, who is now 5 months old. My husband and I decided we would speak English to her to raise her bilingually (our mother tongue is Spanish and we live in a Spanish speaking country). I am an English translator and although I'm very fluent in the language, I find it really hard to speak to my baby in English bec. I'm not familiar with baby talk in English. I don't like to speak to her using the same language I'd use with an adult... Do you know of movies/Internet sites, etc, where I can get ideas to speak English to my baby "in baby"? Thanks!

Kate
Reply with quote  #2 
I was once told that you should speak to your child as if it was an adult - so no "baby talk". The reason is, I believe, to give more language input to a child, more vocabulary, more sophisticated grammar. However, I'm not raising my child bilingually, so I can only imagine that "adult talking" may seem artificial... But maybe you just need time to get used to using English to your child on a daily basis...?
Adriana
Reply with quote  #3 
I am a native English speaker. We are raising our sons bilingually English/Spanish. I would be happy to answer any questions about "baby talk" in English or help you with phrases. Just let me know what you would like to know. I only speak to my 2 month old in Spanish but like I said I am a native English speaker. I struggled at first with my first son to speak the "baby talk" with him because even though I am fluent I had no idea how a Spanish-speaking mother would talk to a baby. I had to spend some time with some native Spanish-speaking mothers and ask ALOT of questions.
Gabriela
Reply with quote  #4